[Top Ten Tuesday] My Recent Audiobook Reads!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was an Audio themed freebie – this means there is no specific topic, it just has to be something to do with Audio! Therefore, I decided to take this opportunity to walk you the last ten audiobooks I listened to! I LOVE audiobooks. They help me hit my goals easier, and get through books I would have struggled with, or simply help me consume a story when I can’t or I’m not in the mood to pick up a physical book. They are wonderful and they 100% count towards any reading goals – you can fight me on this.

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018.


 

lotr

1. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

This is my current audio read (very nearly finished!). I thought it was about time that I tackle the Lord of the Rings books as I love the films so much, and I thought the audio book would be a perfect commute choice as I know the story already so I’m not trying to follow a new fantasy while reading. The downside is that I REALLY do not like the narrator! It’s very old fashioned and the narrator sings all the songs very oddly! I feel like it’s time for a rerecord of this with someone like Richard Armitage to narrate!

Little WOmen

2. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

When I read Classics I love to have the audio book and physical copy so I can listen and follow along. This book was super long though, so being able to carry on with it on audio when I was busy was great.

small spaces

3. Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

I love reading super atmospheric books on audio and getting really absorbed!

the vanishing stair

4. The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson

This audio read was out of simple neccesity! I was physically reading it and literally could not put it down, so I had to carry on by listening to this one on my commute.

six of crows

5. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I binge listened to pretty much this whole book one weekend whilst working on an embroidery project. I was in a bit of a reading slump so listening to this was a great way to keep moving through my tbr even when I wasn’t in the mood to pick up a book!

truly devious

6. Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

I love using audiobooks to reread things that I want a refreshers of or want to revist as I don’t have to pay such close attention if I’m listening whilst doing something else. That’s what this was to me, so I was ready for the release of The Vanishing Stair.

persuasion

7. Persuasion by Jane Austen

As I said before, my favourite way to consume classics is to have the audiobook and follow along with the physical.

pride and prejudice

8. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Same thing for this one! This was my first Classic in my new effort to read more, and getting the audio is what finally pushed me to give it a go, and I’m so happy I did!

they both die at the end

9. They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

I gave this one a go because I had a long car journey and nothing to listen to and it was available through my library. I finished this book laying on my bed with my headphones on SOBBING.

32620332

10. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This was a very similar headphones-on-sobbing sort of experience. The handbook for this is wonderful as the book is written like and interview, as someone recounting their life story. This is probably my top audio recommendation from this whole list.


And there we have it! Let me know what audiobooks you’ve listened to recently, or if you’ve read any of these!

2 thoughts on “[Top Ten Tuesday] My Recent Audiobook Reads!

Leave a comment